What Pakistan Agreed at the Bangkok IMF and World Bank Meetings: M6 Money, an AIIB Power Loan and a $1.5 Billion Guarantee Plan
Pakistan's Bangkok meetings produced an OPEC Fund tranche for the M6, an AIIB transmission loan due by December and a $1.5bn guarantee plan. See each next step.

Pakistan came back from the IMF and World Bank annual meetings in Bangkok with a first OPEC Fund tranche for the M6 Sukkur to Hyderabad motorway awaiting its loan agreement, an AIIB promise to approve a power transmission loan before the end of 2026, and a plan for about $1.5 billion of cheaper borrowing backed by World Bank and MIGA guarantees. None of it is money in the account yet. Each item has a next step, and this page lists them.
We went through the Finance Division's press releases from the Bangkok trip, numbered 657 to 700 and dated 12 to 16 October 2026, on 19 October, and read in full the ones cited below. The Finance Minister held meetings with lenders, rating agencies, banks and governments from 12 to 16 October. The releases are long on intent and short on amounts, so where a figure is missing below, it is missing in the source.
The OPEC Fund has approved a first tranche for the M6 motorway, and the loan agreement is pending
On 15 October the Finance Minister met Dr Abdulhamid Alkhalifa, President of the OPEC Fund for International Development. The release says the discussion covered the M6 motorway's "approved first tranche, a pending loan agreement, and later tranches". The Fund's president invited the minister to visit, where the project agreement could be signed. No amount and no date are given.
The M6 is the planned motorway between Sukkur and Hyderabad, the missing link in a motorway run from Karachi to Peshawar. For a Sindh driver that is the piece that would take the N5 traffic off the road. Until the loan agreement is signed, there is no construction money from this source, so the practical status is "approved in principle, not yet contracted".

The AIIB aims to approve a power transmission project before the end of 2026
The Finance Minister met AIIB President Zou Jiayi on 14 October. The release says the bank "aims to approve a transmission project before year-end" and that the two sides discussed the ML-1 Karachi to Rohri railway section, with co-financing alongside the ADB or parallel financing of other sections. The AIIB also asked for a multi-year lending programme and more public-private projects.
Transmission is the part of the power system that moves electricity from plants to cities, and its weakness is one reason plants sit idle while bills carry capacity charges. The ML-1 work is the one Pakistan Railways is already tendering, as our report on the ML-1 Karachi to Rohri upgrade explained. The AIIB release gives no amount for either project.
A $1.5 billion financing plan rests on a World Bank guarantee and MIGA cover
On 16 October the minister met advisers from Alvarez and Marsal about a structure that combines a World Bank policy-based guarantee with Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency cover to raise about $1.5 billion "at competitive rates". The amount depends on the guarantee envelope. The minister asked for it to run through an existing World Bank development policy operation to avoid delay.
Two days earlier MIGA's managing director told the minister the agency had revised its pricing and wanted to move to board consideration. A guarantee does not add to Pakistan's debt stock on its own. It lets Pakistan borrow from commercial banks at a lower rate because a multilateral stands behind the loan, which is the point: the minister told JP Morgan the aim is to replace costly borrowing without raising the external debt stock.
| Item | Counterpart | Status after Bangkok | Amount in the release |
|---|---|---|---|
| M6 Sukkur to Hyderabad motorway | OPEC Fund | First tranche approved, loan agreement pending | Not stated |
| Power transmission project | AIIB | Approval targeted before end of 2026 | Not stated |
| ML-1 Karachi to Rohri | AIIB with ADB | Co-financing under discussion | Not stated |
| Guaranteed commercial borrowing | World Bank, MIGA, advisers | Structure proposed, board steps ahead | About $1.5 billion |
| Panda bonds in China | Chinese Ministry of Finance, AIIB | Programme approved, next issue planned | RMB 7.2 billion programme |
| Lifeline Fund | CVF-V20 | Target readiness April 2027 | $500 million initially |

China's finance minister backed more Panda bonds under a RMB 7.2 billion programme
The minister met China's finance minister, Lan Fo'an, on 15 October. The release says Pakistan's first Panda bond, a yuan bond sold in China, carried a 2.5 per cent coupon with AIIB credit enhancement, and that further issues are planned under an approved RMB 7.2 billion programme. The two also discussed the SCO finance ministers' meeting that Pakistan will host in Islamabad, a proposed SCO development bank, and changes to the route of a China-Pakistan highway project, without naming it.
A 2.5 per cent coupon is cheap next to the dollar bonds. Pakistan's September Eurobond raised $3 billion, which the US Treasury meeting release repeats, and our list of Pakistan's Eurobonds shows coupons of 7.5 and 7.9 per cent on this year's issues. The catch is that yuan borrowing has to be repaid in yuan, so it suits projects that buy Chinese equipment.
The IMF, the rating agencies and the reserves figure of $21.6 billion
The IMF meetings were about the staff-level agreement of 7 October, which the First Deputy Managing Director and the Deputy Managing Director both welcomed. The minister told the IMF's MENAP meeting that the fiscal deficit is at a 22-year low, that Pakistan has run three primary surpluses in a row, and that growth was 3.7 per cent. He told the IMF's Nigel Clarke that fuel subsidies would be "targeted, budget-neutral and time-bound", a line we unpack in our report on the IMF's call to phase out the fuel relief scheme.
With Fitch, Moody's and S&P the ask was the same each time: what Pakistan must do to reach the BB rating category. The US Treasury meeting cites reserves of about $21.6 billion, a shade above the $21.5 billion the IMF quoted for end September. A higher rating lowers the coupon on the next bond, which is why the minister spent three days on it. Pakistan also leaves Bangkok holding the chair of the Borrowers' Platform and the chair of the IMF and World Bank boards for 2027.
What happens next, in order
Each item has a gate before any money moves. This is the order the releases imply, with our reading of the timing where the source gives none.
- The IMF Executive Board votes on the fourth review and releases about $1.2 billion. No date was given in Bangkok.
- The OPEC Fund loan agreement for the M6 first tranche is signed, possibly during a ministerial visit to the Fund.
- The AIIB board takes up the power transmission project, targeted before the end of 2026.
- MIGA takes the revised guarantee to its board, and the World Bank guarantee structure is worked out through the Finance and Economic Affairs divisions.
- Pakistan sells its next Panda bond under the RMB 7.2 billion programme, with AIIB support.
- The SCO finance ministers meet in Islamabad, on a date not yet announced.

Common questions
Did Pakistan sign any new loan in Bangkok?
No release describes a signed loan. The OPEC Fund's M6 first tranche is approved but its loan agreement is pending, and the AIIB transmission loan is targeted for approval before the end of 2026.
What is the $1.5 billion guarantee plan?
A proposal to combine a World Bank policy-based guarantee with MIGA cover so Pakistan can borrow about $1.5 billion from commercial lenders at lower rates. The amount depends on the guarantee envelope.
What is a Panda bond?
A bond sold in China's domestic market in yuan. Pakistan's first carried a 2.5 per cent coupon with AIIB credit enhancement, and more are planned under a RMB 7.2 billion programme.
How much are Pakistan's reserves?
About $21.6 billion according to the Finance Division's Bangkok releases, and about $21.5 billion at end September according to the IMF.
When will the IMF release the $1.2 billion?
After its Executive Board approves the fourth review. No board date was announced in Bangkok.
How we verified this
What we checked, where we read it, and what we could not confirm.
Last checked 19 October 2026. Every item on this page is from the Finance Division's press releases numbered 657 to 700, dated 12 to 16 October 2026, read on the Finance Division press releases page on 19 October 2026. The IMF's end September reserve figure is from its 7 October 2026 statement. The releases give no amounts for the M6 tranche, the AIIB transmission project or the ML-1 financing, and no dates for the IMF board, the OPEC Fund signing or the SCO meeting, so none appear here as fact.
About the author

Global Affairs & Political Economy Writer
Muhammad Hatim is a book lover who started writing because he enjoys it. At Pakistan Era he writes about international relations, geopolitics and the global economy, with a particular interest in South Asia and the forces behind current events.




