How Many Chances for Matric and Inter in Punjab: 6 Attempts in 4 Years Under the PBCC Rule
Punjab boards now allow six matric and inter attempts within four years, from Annual 2024. See who qualifies, how to claim the two extra chances and new rules.

Matric and inter students in Punjab now get six exam attempts, up from four, to be used within four consecutive years, under a decision of the Punjab Boards Committee of Chairmen (PBCC) that applies from the Annual Examination 2024. Students who already failed or used up four chances since 2024 can claim the two extra ones by written request to their board's Controller of Examinations.
This matters most right now to students who failed in the 1st annual exams and are deciding whether to sit the 2nd annual papers or wait. We read BISE Multan's notifications adopting the PBCC decisions on 24 October 2026. Below are the new chance rule, who it covers, how to restore the two extra attempts, the change to marks improvement, and two other PBCC changes on the same notices.
You now get six chances in four years for matric and inter
The PBCC decided on 18 February 2026 to raise exam attempts from four to six, to be used within four consecutive years. the Punjab government's Section Officer (Boards) notified it on 25 March 2026, and BISE Multan adopted it at its board meeting on 5 May 2026, notifying it on 11 May.
The rule applies "with effect from Annual Examination, 2024". It covers every group the boards examine: matric, intermediate, O and A level equivalence candidates, Al Sanvia Aama and Al Sanvia Khasa, and candidates who pass and then sit additional subjects.
| Point | Old rule | New rule (PBCC, from Annual 2024) |
|---|---|---|
| Number of attempts | 4 | 6 |
| Time limit | Not stated in the notice | Within four consecutive years |
| Who it covers | Not stated in the notice | Matric, inter, O/A levels, Sanvia Aama, Sanvia Khasa, additional subjects |
| Syllabus for extra attempts | Not stated | The syllabus in force at the time of the attempt |
| Already used 4 chances since 2024 | Out of chances | 2 more on written request |

Extra attempts are on the current syllabus, not the one you studied
The notice says students using the additional chances "shall be bound to appear in the current/prevailing syllabus at the time of their attempts". If your board changed a textbook or paper pattern after you first sat the exam, the extra attempt follows the new one.
This is the catch in the new rule. A student who failed matric in 2024 and returns in 2027 may face a different book and pattern, especially where practical-based assessment has been added. Check the current scheme of studies with your board before you fill the form, not after you get the roll number slip.
The federal board works differently. FBISE allows five attempts under its own rules, set out in FBISE rules for failed students, so do not mix the two systems if you have moved between boards.
Used all four chances since 2024? Write to the Controller of Examinations
The extra two chances are not added automatically for everyone. Candidates who sat SSC 1st Annual 2024 onwards and failed as a whole, or used all four chances under the old policy, must submit a written request to the Controller of Examinations. The board then revises or restores their last result to allow the extra chances, four plus two, six.
- Find your last result card and roll number, and note how many times you have appeared since 2024.
- Write a short application to the Controller of Examinations of your board asking for the additional chances under the PBCC decision.
- Attach a copy of your last result card and your B-Form or CNIC.
- Submit it at the board office and keep a receipt or diary number.
- Once your result is restored, fill the admission form for the next exam with the normal fee schedule.
BISE Multan's notice gave students wanting to use an extra chance in the HSSC 1st Annual 2026 exam until 18 May 2026 to submit forms with single fee. That window has passed. For the next exams, the normal admission schedule applies, starting with the inter 2nd annual exam in Punjab.

Marks improvement no longer fails if you miss a paper
A second PBCC decision changed marks improvement. Under the old rule, if a candidate improving marks was absent from one or more subjects of Part-I and Part-II, or the composite exam, the result was declared "Marks not Improved". Under the new rule, the old marks of the missed paper are carried into the new result.
The amended rule says the candidate's previous result in the absent paper or papers "will be shifted" to that paper for compilation, and the result will be declared "Marks Improved". In both versions, each subject's new score is compared with the old one, and the higher marks or grade are awarded.
In plain terms: if you sit improvement for five papers but fall ill for one, you no longer lose the whole improvement attempt. You keep your better marks in the four you took and your old marks in the one you missed. Students in the federal board should read the separate FBISE marks improvement rules.
Two more PBCC changes: CNIC on matric certificates and biometric registration
The same board meeting adopted a PBCC decision to print the candidate's identity number (CNIC, CRC or B-Form number) on Secondary School Certificates from the SSC 1st Annual Examination 2026 onwards. Your matric certificate is now tied to your B-Form or CNIC.
That makes it more important that the B-Form number you give at registration is correct. A wrong digit on a certificate is harder to fix later than on a registration form.
BISE Multan's notice of 12 May 2026, issued in Urdu, also says fingerprint scanning of both thumbs and a live picture are now taken at the time of online registration and admission for 9th and 11th class, session 2026-28, following Punjab government instructions to use biometric checks at matric and inter exam centres. Schools must buy a fingerprint scanner for this, and the notice says registration is not possible without the biometric scan and live picture.

Common questions
How many chances are allowed for matric in Punjab?
Six, within four consecutive years, under the PBCC decision effective from the Annual Examination 2024. It was four before.
How many chances for inter in Punjab?
The same six chances in four years apply to intermediate (HSSC) candidates.
I used all four chances in 2024 and 2025. Can I sit again?
Yes. Submit a written request to your board's Controller of Examinations to restore your last result and use the two extra chances.
Will my extra attempt be on the old syllabus?
No. The notice says extra attempts must be on the syllabus in force at the time of the attempt.
What happens if I miss one paper during marks improvement?
Under the amended rule, your previous marks for that paper are carried over and the result is declared "Marks Improved", with the higher marks awarded in each subject.
Does this rule apply to every Punjab board?
It is a decision of the Punjab Boards Committee of Chairmen, which covers the Punjab boards. We read BISE Multan's adoption notice; check your own board's notification for its adoption date.
How we verified this
What we checked, where we read it, and what we could not confirm.
We read four notifications on the BISE Multan notifications page on 24 October 2026: on examination attempts, marks improvement and identity numbers on SSC certificates, all dated 11 May 2026, and the Urdu notice No. 241 of 12 May 2026 on biometric registration. Each is a scanned image, which we read directly. We did not read the PBCC's own minutes or the adoption notices of the other Punjab boards, so we cannot confirm each board's adoption date.
About the author

Public Services and Education Journalist
Fajr Riaz is a journalist and content writer at Pakistan Era, based in Lahore. She covers the questions people meet in everyday life in Pakistan: how a public service works, what a change in the rules means, and where to find a reliable answer.




