Skip to content
Pakistan Era logo
Guides

Check Asaan Account Limits in Pakistan: Rs 1 Million a Month, and Rs 3 Million for Asaan Remittance

Asaan Account limits in Pakistan per SBP's 2022 letter: Rs 1 million debits and balance, Rs 3 million for Asaan Remittance. See the daily caps and what to do.

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan EraFajr Riaz5 min read
A wooden block on a dark wooden table, for a guide to Asaan Account limits in Pakistan

Short answer: An Asaan Account can take up to Rs 1,000,000 in debits a month and hold up to Rs 1,000,000. An Asaan Remittance Account can hold up to Rs 3,000,000, with Rs 500,000 a day in cash withdrawals and in transfers, and Rs 1,000,000 a month of local credit. These are the limits in SBP's letter of 13 April 2022.

You open a simple account, money starts coming in, and one day the bank blocks a payment. The reason is usually a limit. Asaan accounts are low risk accounts with light paperwork, and in return they have caps.

We read the State Bank of Pakistan's BPRD Circular Letter No. 10 of 2022 on 14 October 2026. That letter set the current limits for both accounts. We did not find a later change, but we could not search the whole circular list, so confirm with your bank before you rely on a number.

The Asaan Account allows Rs 1 million a month

The 2022 letter sets two limits for the Asaan Account: total debits of Rs 1,000,000 a month, and a total credit balance of Rs 1,000,000. Debit means money going out. Balance means the most the account may hold at any time.

The Asaan Account is meant for people who have never had a bank account or have used one very little. It is built on simplified checks, which is why the limits exist. The State Bank introduced it in a 2015 circular, and the 2022 letter raised the caps.

If you only receive a salary, a small business payment or family help, Rs 1 million is a lot of room. If you run a shop and move money often, you may hit the monthly debit cap. Then you need a regular account.

Asaan Account limits set by the State Bank of Pakistan

The Asaan Remittance Account is built for money from abroad

The Asaan Remittance Account may hold up to Rs 3,000,000. You can withdraw cash up to Rs 500,000 a day and transfer up to Rs 500,000 a day to any other account. Local credit is allowed up to Rs 1,000,000 a month. Commercial remittances are not allowed.

Commercial remittance means money for trade, such as paying for goods. The account is for family money, not business payments. That is the line banks watch.

LimitAsaan AccountAsaan Remittance Account
Maximum balanceRs 1,000,000Rs 3,000,000
Debits a monthRs 1,000,000Not stated in the letter
Cash withdrawal a dayNot stated in the letterRs 500,000
Transfer to another account a dayNot stated in the letterRs 500,000
Local credit a monthNot stated in the letterRs 1,000,000
Commercial remittancesNot stated in the letterNot allowed

The blank cells mean the 2022 letter does not repeat the older rules, which sit in the 2015 circular. The letter says all other instructions on the subject remain unchanged.

A family that receives money from abroad should also read about getting a remittance into a bank account or wallet through Raast. For a newer account type, see the Sohni Dharti remittance account.

Opening and activation rules also apply

According to a search summary of SBP's 2015 guidelines, which we could not open in full, only individuals can open these accounts, in rupees, as single or joint accounts. Debits may stay blocked until NADRA verification is done. A bank that takes your fingerprint and verifies it can switch the account on at once.

We report this as stated in that summary, not as something we read in the guidelines themselves. Ask your bank which rule applies to you.

  1. Take your original CNIC to a bank branch or use the bank's Asaan account app.
  2. Ask whether the account will be an Asaan Account or an Asaan Remittance Account.
  3. Give your fingerprint for NADRA verification so debits are not blocked.
  4. Ask for the limits in writing and keep a copy.
  5. Check your balance against the cap before a big deposit arrives.

If a fingerprint will not scan, there is a process. Read what to do in our guide on opening an account when your fingerprint will not match. To open one from your phone, see how to open an Asaan digital account.

Steps to open and activate an Asaan Account

What to do when you outgrow the limits

If you need more room than the limits give, ask the bank to convert the account to a regular account after full customer due diligence. The same search summary quotes SBP as allowing this. Regular accounts need more documents, but they do not have these caps.

Regular accounts have their own rules, and some are friendlier than you expect. Banks cannot demand a minimum balance on a regular account, which we explain in our note on the SBP no minimum balance rule. For one off cases such as buying property, see how to lift your bank account limit for a property deal.

Do not split a big deposit across many days to dodge a cap. Banks watch patterns, and a blocked account is worse than a slow one.

Questions about Asaan account limits

What is the Asaan Account balance limit?

The 2022 State Bank letter sets it at Rs 1,000,000, with monthly debits also capped at Rs 1,000,000.

How much can an Asaan Remittance Account hold?

Up to Rs 3,000,000, with Rs 500,000 a day for cash withdrawals and for transfers to other accounts.

Can I run a business through an Asaan Remittance Account?

No. The letter says commercial remittances are not allowed. Use a business account instead.

Can I upgrade to a regular account?

Yes, according to a search summary of SBP's guidelines. The bank must complete full customer due diligence first.

Are these limits still current?

We found no later change on SBP's pages, but we could not browse the full circular list. Confirm the limits with your bank.

How we verified this

What we checked, where we read it, and what we could not confirm.

Last checked on 14 October 2026, Pakistan time. We read SBP's BPRD Circular Letter No. 10 of 2022, dated 13 April 2022, through a text reader. We did not open the 2015 circular or its guidelines, so the opening and conversion rules are marked as reported. We have not opened an Asaan account ourselves.

About the author

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan Era

Public Services and Education Journalist

Fajr Riaz

Fajr Riaz is a journalist and content writer at Pakistan Era, based in Lahore. She covers the questions people meet in everyday life in Pakistan: how a public service works, what a change in the rules means, and where to find a reliable answer.

TopicsAsaan AccountSBPBank AccountPakistan