Skip to content
Pakistan Era logo
Guides

How to Get a ZTBL Loan Against Stored Rice or Maize in Pakistan: Rs 2.5 Million on a Warehouse Receipt

Get a ZTBL loan against stored rice or maize with an electronic warehouse receipt: Rs 2.5 million limit, 70% of stock value, four pilot districts. See how.

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan EraFajr Riaz5 min read
An abacus on a dark wooden table, for a guide to ZTBL's warehouse receipt loan for rice and maize farmers

Short answer: ZTBL lends up to Rs 2.5 million per borrower against rice or maize stored in a warehouse, if you hold an electronic warehouse receipt from Naymat Collateral Management Company. The bank finances 70 percent of the stock value on the receipt. You keep a 30 percent margin and repay in one payment within a year.

Harvest is when a farmer is weakest. Cash is needed for seed, rent and the next crop, and every farmer sells at the same time, so the price is low. A warehouse receipt loan lets you store the grain, borrow against it and sell later.

We read the ZTBL product page on 14 October 2026. It describes a pilot, so it is not open in every district. We also read the Finance Division's Economic Survey 2025-26 for national figures. The page does not state the markup rate, and we say so below.

The scheme lends against stored rice and maize

ZTBL calls it the Electronic Warehouse Receipt Financing Scheme for rice and maize. It is post harvest finance for small farmers, so they can meet crop needs without selling straight away. The bank holds a lien on the receipt, which means the receipt is its security.

An electronic warehouse receipt is a digital record that grain of a stated weight and quality sits in an approved warehouse in your name. You do not hand the bank sacks of rice. You hand it the receipt.

The page lists only rice and maize. If you grow wheat or cotton, this scheme is not for you. For other farm loans, see our review of who lends to farmers.

ZTBL warehouse receipt loan terms for rice and maize farmers

Only four districts are in the pilot

ZTBL says the scheme is a pilot project for branches in four districts: Okara, Kasur, Hafizabad and Sheikhupura. All creditworthy farmers can apply, provided the receipt comes from Naymat Collateral Management Company after it checks its own requirements.

If your farm is in another district, call before you travel. The page does not say when the pilot will widen. It names no warehouse locations either, so ask the branch which warehouses are approved near you.

The page also asks for a clear CWR and an ORR rating of up to 4. It does not explain either term. We take them to be the bank's internal credit checks, but we have not confirmed that, so ask the branch officer to tell you your own status before you apply.

The loan covers 70 percent of the stock value

The bank finances 70 percent of the stock value declared on the receipt, so you must hold a minimum 30 percent margin. The limit is Rs 2.5 million per borrower. If your grain is worth Rs 1 million, the loan can reach Rs 700,000, not more.

ItemWhat ZTBL's page says
CropsRice and maize
LimitUp to Rs 2.5 million per borrower
Financing70 percent of the stock value on the receipt
Your marginMinimum 30 percent
RepaymentOne lump sum within one year
MarkupPrevailing production loan rate, not stated on the page

Check the price you will pay before you sign. The page says the production loan markup applies and that cost of credit follows the bank's standing instructions. It does not print a figure. Ask the branch to write the rate on your application.

Repayment is a single payment within a year of the loan. There are no monthly instalments. That suits a farmer who plans to sell the grain at a better price in a few months.

Bring four items and the bank lien secures the loan

ZTBL lists four documents: a CNIC copy, the loan application, the electronic warehouse receipt, and two recent photographs. Security is the receipt, the bank's lien on it and a personal guarantee from the depositor or borrower. Head office credit review sanctions the loan.

  1. Store your rice or maize in a warehouse accredited by Naymat Collateral Management Company and get your electronic warehouse receipt.
  2. Visit a ZTBL branch in a pilot district and ask for the warehouse receipt financing form.
  3. Hand in your CNIC copy, the application, the receipt and two photographs.
  4. Agree the markup in writing, and sign the lien and guarantee.
  5. Wait for approval from head office, then collect the loan and keep the receipt details safe.

The page does not describe a step by step process beyond the document list, so the order above is our reading of it. The branch may ask for more. Confirm on the helpline, 051-111-30-30-30.

Steps to get a ZTBL electronic warehouse receipt loan

Do not pay anyone to speed up approval. The sanction sits at head office, and the branch has no fee to charge on the page. Compare this with the interest-free option in the Punjab farm mechanization loan, which is for machines, not stored grain.

Warehouse receipts are growing but still small

The Economic Survey 2025-26 says warehouses accredited by the collateral management company issued 671 electronic warehouse receipts worth Rs 8.8 billion in July to March of 2025-26. About 67 percent were used as collateral for bank finance. The Survey calls this a bigger total than the whole previous year.

That is a small number beside the farm credit sector. Our crop output report shows how large the harvest is. Still, two out of three receipts went to banks, which shows farmers do use the receipt as a loan tool.

If you hold a Kissan Card, the Punjab Kissan Card is a different route for input finance. The two schemes do not replace each other.

Common questions about the warehouse receipt loan

How much can I borrow against stored rice?

Up to Rs 2.5 million per borrower, and no more than 70 percent of the stock value shown on your receipt.

Who issues the warehouse receipt?

ZTBL's page names Naymat Collateral Management Company as the issuer whose receipts it accepts.

Is the loan available outside the four districts?

The page calls it a pilot for Okara, Kasur, Hafizabad and Sheikhupura branches. It does not announce other districts, so ask your nearest branch.

When do I repay?

You repay in a single lump sum within one year of the loan being paid out.

What is the markup rate?

The page does not state a figure. It says the prevailing production loan markup applies, so get the rate in writing from the branch.

How we verified this

What we checked, where we read it, and what we could not confirm.

Last checked on 14 October 2026, Pakistan time. We read ZTBL's warehouse receipt financing page and the capital markets chapter of the Finance Division's Economic Survey 2025-26. We did not apply for a loan, we could not find a markup figure on the page, and the page does not define CWR or ORR.

About the author

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan Era

Public Services and Education Journalist

Fajr Riaz

Fajr Riaz is a journalist and content writer at Pakistan Era, based in Lahore. She covers the questions people meet in everyday life in Pakistan: how a public service works, what a change in the rules means, and where to find a reliable answer.

TopicsZTBLFarm LoansWarehouse ReceiptPakistan