Skip to content
Pakistan Era logo
News

Rs 160 Billion for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa: PM Announces Badalta Nikharta Mazboot KP Programme in Peshawar

The Prime Minister announced Rs 160 billion for the Badalta Nikharta Mazboot KP programme in Peshawar on 22 October 2026. See what is stated and what is not.

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan EraFajr Riaz5 min read
Stacked wooden blocks on a dark wooden table against a plain cream wall in soft daylight

Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif announced Rs 160 billion from the federal government for a development and public welfare programme called "Badalta, Nikharta, Mazboot KP" in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP). He did so in Peshawar on 22 October 2026, after chairing the Federal Apex Committee. The release does not say which projects the money will fund or over how many years.

We read the Press Information Department's release, number 347, on 22 October 2026. It is the only official account we found. This page sets out what it says, what it leaves out, and what a reader in KP can check now.

The Prime Minister announced Rs 160 billion for KP in Peshawar

The announcement came at a meeting of the Federal Apex Committee in Peshawar on 22 October 2026. The release says the money comes from the federal government and is meant for development and public welfare under the "Badalta, Nikharta, Mazboot KP" programme.

Rs 160 billion is Rs 160,000 million. The release gives no breakdown by district, sector or year. It does not say whether the sum is new money, a re-labelled existing budget line, or a ceiling. Until a notification or a budget document appears, treat the figure as an announcement.

The Prime Minister also met members of the Area Representative and Development Council (ARDC) separately on the same visit. The release says ARDC members told him that lasting peace and security must come before development and better living standards.

Rs 160 billion federal programme for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa announced in Peshawar on 22 October 2026

The Apex Committee met after emergency and governor's rule in KP

The release says the committee reviewed the situation in KP after the Emergency and Governor's Rule were imposed in the province. Our first report on that decision is the emergency and governor's rule in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, announced on 11 October 2026.

The release lists these priorities: governance reform, accountability, transparency and better delivery of services. It names the merged districts and other areas hit by terrorism as the main focus. It also says the committee wants community engagement and coordinated action on education, healthcare, jobs, investment and infrastructure.

On security, participants repeated their commitment to end terrorism and its networks. They asked for closer coordination between state institutions and better sharing of intelligence. The forum also discussed strengthening the KP Police and its Counter Terrorism Department through training, modern equipment, buildings and intelligence capacity.

The release leaves out how the Rs 160 billion will be spent

Readers want to know where the money goes. The release is silent on that. The table below separates what is stated from what we could not find on any official page on 22 October 2026.

QuestionWhat the release saysStatus
AmountRs 160 billionStated
SourceThe federal governmentStated
Programme nameBadalta, Nikharta, Mazboot KPStated
PurposeDevelopment and public welfareStated
Projects or sectorsEducation, health, jobs, investment, infrastructure as areas of focusNo list or split
Timeline and yearsNot givenNot stated
Who spends itNot givenNot stated

These gaps matter because development in KP is a provincial subject. Schools, hospitals and roads are normally run by provincial departments. The release does not say whether the federal funds will pass through the provincial government, the governor's office or a federal body. We will report the channel once an official document names it.

What the 22 October 2026 release states and what it leaves out about the KP programme

What people in KP can check while details are awaited

A programme name is not an application form. Nothing in the release opens a scheme for individuals or tells residents to register. Be careful with messages that ask for a CNIC or a fee to join "Badalta Nikharta Mazboot KP". No such enrolment has been announced.

  1. Read the Press Information Department's release list at pid.gov.pk for the full text of release 347.
  2. Watch for a notification from the Planning Division or the KP government that names projects and amounts.
  3. Do not send your CNIC or pay anyone to be "registered" for this programme.
  4. Use schemes that are already open, such as the KP Sehat Card Plus or the Ehsaas Umeed Card for disabled persons.
  5. For disaster help in the province, the PDMA control room number is in our list of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa emergency contacts.
Five steps for KP residents while the Rs 160 billion programme details are awaited

The court challenge to the governor's rule is a separate matter

Petitions against the emergency and governor's rule are reported in the Peshawar High Court. We found no confirmed hearing date, as our note on the Peshawar High Court petitions explains. This page does not take a side on that dispute. It reports an official announcement of funds.

Common questions

How much money did the Prime Minister announce for KP?

Rs 160 billion from the federal government, for the "Badalta, Nikharta, Mazboot KP" programme. The release gives no split by project or year.

When was it announced?

On 22 October 2026 in Peshawar, at a Federal Apex Committee meeting chaired by the Prime Minister.

Can I apply to the Badalta Nikharta Mazboot KP programme?

No application has been announced. The release describes a development and public welfare programme, not a cash or loan scheme for individuals.

Which areas does it target?

The release names the merged districts and other terrorism-affected areas as priorities, and lists education, healthcare, employment, investment and infrastructure as focus areas across KP.

Is the Rs 160 billion already approved in a budget?

We could not tell. The release is an announcement. We did not find a notification, budget line or cabinet decision for the amount on 22 October 2026.

Who attended the meeting?

The release lists the Deputy Prime Minister, the Chief of Army Staff, the KP Governor, the interior, finance, planning and information ministers, and other senior civil and military officials.

How we verified this

What we checked, where we read it, and what we could not confirm.

Last checked 22 October 2026. We read Press Information Department release 347 on 22 October 2026 and its list of releases at pid.gov.pk. We could not find a notification, budget document or Planning Division statement for the Rs 160 billion. We did not read any KP government release. Treat every figure here as announced, not as sanctioned spending.

About the author

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan Era

Public Services and Education Journalist

Fajr Riaz

Fajr Riaz is a journalist and content writer at Pakistan Era, based in Lahore. She covers the questions people meet in everyday life in Pakistan: how a public service works, what a change in the rules means, and where to find a reliable answer.

TopicsKhyber PakhtunkhwaFederal Apex CommitteePeshawarDevelopmentNews