Skip to content
Pakistan Era logo
Guides

Pakistani Passport Fee in Iran: 752,000 Toman Normal, 1,279,000 Urgent at the Tehran Embassy (2026)

Pakistani passport fee in Iran: 752,000 toman normal and 1,279,000 urgent at the Tehran embassy, 3 to 6 weeks. Lost passport rules, papers and contact list.

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan EraFajr Riaz5 min read
An empty waiting hall with rows of wooden chairs under a turquoise tiled arch in soft morning light

A Pakistani passport at the embassy in Tehran costs 752,000 Iranian toman for normal processing and 1,279,000 toman for urgent, according to the embassy's own page. Normal takes 5 to 6 weeks and urgent about 3 weeks. A lost passport costs double the first time and four times the second. Below is the fee, the papers for adults and children, what the page leaves out and how to reach the embassy.

We read the Embassy of Pakistan in Tehran's pages on mofa.gov.pk on 6 November 2026. The embassy serves Pakistanis living in Iran, and pilgrims on ziarat may need it if a passport is lost or damaged during the trip. Its passport page is short, so we have also listed the questions to ask before you pay.

Pakistani passport fee in Iran: 752,000 toman normal

The Tehran embassy prints two fees: 752,000 toman for a normal passport and 1,279,000 toman for an urgent one. Urgent costs about 1.7 times normal and saves two to three weeks.

ServiceFeeTime
Normal passport752,000 toman5 to 6 weeks
Urgent passport1,279,000 toman3 weeks
First lost passportDouble the feeNot stated
Second lost passportDouble the first loss feeNot stated

The toman is the unit most Iranians use in daily prices. One toman equals 10 Iranian rials, so 752,000 toman is 7,520,000 rials. If a bank or exchange quotes you in rials, check the zeros before you pay.

We have not converted the fee into rupees. The rial moves a great deal, and we could not find an official rate that the embassy uses. Ask the embassy how it wants to be paid.

Pakistani passport fee in Iran in toman at the Tehran embassy: 752,000 normal and 1,279,000 urgent

The page does not say which passport these fees buy

Most Pakistani missions price passports by validity (5 or 10 years) and pages (36, 72 or 100). The Tehran page gives one normal and one urgent figure only. It does not say whether that is a 5 year or 10 year book, or how many pages.

Ask the embassy three things before you pay: the validity, the number of pages, and whether the book is the new e-passport. Pakistan has been moving applicants from the machine readable passport to the e-passport, as our page on the MRP stop from 15 October explains. Fees at other missions changed with that switch.

The embassy does say that children under 15 cannot get a 10 year passport. That matches DGIP's rule at home.

Bring your NADRA card and existing passport

The embassy's list of papers is short. Adults bring their CNIC or NICOP and their current passport. Children bring their NICOP or B-form, their passport and their parents' CNIC copies.

  1. Check that your CNIC or NICOP is valid.
  2. Bring the original card and a photocopy.
  3. Bring your existing passport and a photocopy.
  4. For a child under 18, bring the child's NICOP or B-form, the child's passport and copies of both parents' CNICs.
  5. Pay the fee in the way the embassy tells you, and keep the receipt.

If your CNIC has expired, renew it first, because the passport system reads its data from NADRA. Our guide to apply for a NICOP online sets out NADRA's online route. NADRA's online fee is paid by card, so check that your card works before you start.

Steps to apply for a Pakistani passport at the embassy in Tehran, Iran

Tell the embassy at once if your passport is lost

The embassy says you must inform its passport section when a passport is lost. A first loss is charged at double the fee. A second loss is charged at double the first loss amount, which is four times the normal fee.

LossRule on the Tehran pageNormal fee worked out
First lossDouble amount1,504,000 toman
Second lossDouble the first loss3,008,000 toman

The last column is our arithmetic from the embassy's normal fee. Get a police report in Iran that mentions the old passport number, because other Pakistani missions ask for one in every lost passport case. Our guide to a lost Pakistani passport abroad covers the first steps and the emergency travel document for an urgent trip home.

Pilgrims should renew in Pakistan before they travel

A pilgrim on a short ziarat trip cannot wait 3 to 6 weeks in Iran for a new passport. If your passport is close to expiry, renew it at home before you leave. DGIP lets you renew at any time before expiry, with no waiting rule, as our page on renewing a passport before it expires explains.

Book only with a licensed operator. Our page on how to check a ziarat operator's licence shows how. Keep a photocopy of your passport and CNIC apart from the originals, because a copy speeds up any lost passport case.

Contact the Tehran embassy before you go

The embassy's numbers are +98 21 6694 1388 to 1390, +98 21 6694 4890 and +98 21 6694 4892. Its email is eoptehran@gmail.com. Friday and Saturday are the embassy's days off, so plan visits for Sunday to Thursday.

Lost Pakistani passport fee rule in Iran: first loss double, second loss double again

Common questions

How much is a Pakistani passport in Iran?

The Tehran embassy lists 752,000 toman for normal and 1,279,000 toman for urgent processing.

How long does a Pakistani passport take in Tehran?

About 5 to 6 weeks for normal and 3 weeks for urgent, according to the embassy's page.

How much is a lost Pakistani passport in Iran?

Double the fee for a first loss and double that again for a second loss. On the normal fee that is 1,504,000 toman, then 3,008,000 toman.

Can a child get a 10 year Pakistani passport in Iran?

No. The embassy says children under 15 cannot apply for a 10 year passport.

What days is the Pakistan Embassy Tehran closed?

Friday and Saturday. Call +98 21 6694 1388 or email eoptehran@gmail.com before you visit.

How we verified this

What we checked, where we read it, and what we could not confirm.

We read the Embassy of Pakistan Tehran's passport and travel documents page and contact page on 6 November 2026. The fees and times are the embassy's printed figures. The page does not state the passport's validity, page count or a date for the fee, so confirm these with the embassy.

About the author

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan Era

Public Services and Education Journalist

Fajr Riaz

Fajr Riaz is a journalist and content writer at Pakistan Era, based in Lahore. She covers the questions people meet in everyday life in Pakistan: how a public service works, what a change in the rules means, and where to find a reliable answer.

TopicsPassport FeeIranOverseas PakistanisZiaratPassport