Skip to content
Pakistan Era logo
News

ZTBL Privatisation Plan Changed in Pakistan: Board Says the Bank Must Stay Focused on Farmer Financing

The Privatisation Commission Board changed the ZTBL sale structure on 22 October 2026 to keep farm lending. See what it says and what it leaves out for farmers.

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan EraFajr Riaz4 min read
A terracotta pot with a small green seedling on a dark wooden table against a plain cream wall

The Privatisation Commission Board approved changes to the transaction structure and restructuring plan for Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited (ZTBL) on 22 October 2026, following the Prime Minister's direction that the bank stay focused on agricultural and farmer financing after privatisation. The release says nothing about existing loans, loan schemes or a sale date.

We read the Privatisation Commission's release, published by the Press Information Department as number 345, on 22 October 2026. This page covers what it says about ZTBL, what stays the same for a borrower, and what the other decisions in the same meeting were.

The board changed the ZTBL transaction structure on 22 October 2026

The Board met for its 260th meeting under Muhammad Ali, Adviser to the Prime Minister on Privatisation and Chairman of the Privatisation Commission. For ZTBL, it approved changes to the transaction structure and to the restructuring plan.

The release gives the reason: the Prime Minister's directions to keep ZTBL focused on agricultural and farmer financing once it is privatised. It does not describe the new structure. It names no buyer, no share to be sold, no price and no date.

Privatisation Commission Board approves changes to the ZTBL transaction on 22 October 2026

Nothing in the release changes an existing ZTBL loan

A farmer with a ZTBL loan will ask one thing first: does my loan change? The release is silent on repayment dates, mark-up rates, security or loan schemes. A privatisation decision does not by itself cancel or reprice a loan contract that has already been signed.

That is our reading, not a statement in the release. Your loan terms are in your own sanction letter. Keep it, and ask your ZTBL branch in writing if any notice reaches you that differs from it.

Question for a borrowerWhat the release says
Does my existing loan change?Not mentioned
Will new farm loans continue?The bank is to stay focused on agricultural and farmer financing
Who is buying ZTBL?Not stated
When will the sale happen?Not stated
Will branches close?Not mentioned

The same meeting moved on three other transactions

The Board also dealt with two power distribution companies and the State Life Insurance Corporation. For the Islamabad Electric Supply Company (IESCO), it prequalified 10 interested parties, who now move to the next stage including a virtual data room for due diligence. IESCO is in the first batch of distribution companies for privatisation, with the Faisalabad (FESCO) and Gujranwala (GEPCO) companies.

For FESCO, the Board approved adding members to a consortium that was already prequalified, so it can take part in all first-batch transactions. For State Life, it selected a Deutsche Bank-led consortium as the top-ranked adviser and formed a committee to negotiate the advisory agreement.

Four transactions handled at the 260th Privatisation Commission Board meeting

Farmers can still use the loan schemes already open

ZTBL's schemes remain listed on its own pages. Our guides cover the tractor loan, the Kissan Khushhal revolving loan and the warehouse receipt loan. Their terms are those we read earlier. Check the current terms at a branch before you apply.

  1. Keep your sanction letter and every receipt for repayments.
  2. Ask the branch for your outstanding balance in writing.
  3. Do not pay anyone outside the bank "to protect your loan from privatisation".
  4. Know your rights as a borrower under the State Bank's farm loan rules in our note on farm loan rights.
  5. Watch the Privatisation Commission's releases for the sale terms.
Five steps for ZTBL borrowers while the privatisation structure changes

What a farmer should and should not read into the decision

The release uses plain language about purpose: ZTBL is to stay focused on agriculture and farmers. It does not use words such as "guarantee" or "subsidised". It does not say whether the bank's mark-up rates, loan limits or branch network will stay as they are. A promise about focus is not a promise about price.

Farmers should also separate two things. Privatisation is about who owns the bank. Farm loan rules, such as limits and timelines for decisions, come from the State Bank of Pakistan and apply to every bank that lends to farmers. Those rules do not depend on who owns ZTBL.

The Privatisation Commission said the Board wants transparent, competitive and professionally managed transactions. A sale of a bank also needs further approvals, and the release does not list them. So there is no date to plan around, and no reason to rush into a decision about an existing loan because of this announcement.

If a ZTBL branch tells you your loan terms are changing, ask for the change in writing and compare it with your sanction letter. Do not sign a new document you have not read.

Common questions

Is ZTBL being privatised?

It is on the Privatisation Commission's list, and the Board approved changes to its transaction structure on 22 October 2026. No buyer or date is announced.

Will my ZTBL loan be affected?

The release does not mention existing loans. Your sanction letter sets your terms.

Why did the structure change?

The release says it follows the Prime Minister's directions to keep ZTBL focused on agricultural and farmer financing after privatisation.

Who chaired the Board?

Muhammad Ali, Adviser to the Prime Minister on Privatisation and Chairman of the Privatisation Commission.

Can I still apply for a ZTBL loan?

The release does not suspend applications. Confirm current schemes with your nearest branch.

Where do I read the release?

On the Press Information Department site, pid.gov.pk, under the releases of 22 October 2026.

How we verified this

What we checked, where we read it, and what we could not confirm.

Last checked 22 October 2026. We read the Privatisation Commission Board release and the Press Information Department release list on 22 October 2026. We did not find the new ZTBL structure described on any official page, and we did not read ZTBL's own notices on the day. The point on existing loans is our reading, not an official statement.

About the author

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan Era

Public Services and Education Journalist

Fajr Riaz

Fajr Riaz is a journalist and content writer at Pakistan Era, based in Lahore. She covers the questions people meet in everyday life in Pakistan: how a public service works, what a change in the rules means, and where to find a reliable answer.

TopicsZTBLPrivatisationFarm LoansAgricultureNews