Tool
Phone Instalment Calculator
Pick a phone or type its price, and choose how many months you want to pay. We compare every card plan we could read on the bank's own page, cheapest first, and show what a "0% markup" offer with a fee really costs you.
A "0%" plan is not free. A 12% fee on a 12 month plan costs about 24.3% a year, because you pay the fee on day one but borrow less and less each month. On Rs 250,000 the fee alone is Rs 30,000.
Cheapest on published figures over 12 months
Rs 20,833 a month
Daraz, EMI with MCB card. You pay Rs 256,250 in all, Rs 6,250 more than the cash price of Rs 250,000.
Every plan, cheapest first
"Extra" is everything you pay above the cash price: markup, fees and takaful. The yearly cost turns all of that into one rate, so a 0% plan with a fee and a flat rate plan can be compared fairly.
- Cheapest
Daraz, EMI with MCB card
0% markup, 2.5% fee
- Monthly
- Rs 20,833
- Total paid
- Rs 256,250
- Extra over cash price
- Rs 6,250
- Yearly cost
- 4.7% a year
- Down payment
- Rs 0
- Fees
- Rs 6,250
- Months
- 12
How we worked this out
- Daraz's EMI terms page still uses 2019 and 2020 examples, so it may be out of date. Check the price at checkout.
- Fee of 2.5% of the order.
- One item per EMI order. Your card limit must cover the full price, and conversion can take 7 working days.
Read on Daraz's own page on 6 Oct 2026.
Daraz, EMI with Standard Chartered card
0% markup, 7% fee
- Monthly
- Rs 20,833
- Total paid
- Rs 267,500
- Extra over cash price
- Rs 17,500
- Yearly cost
- 13.6% a year
- Down payment
- Rs 0
- Fees
- Rs 17,500
- Months
- 12
How we worked this out
- Daraz's EMI terms page still uses 2019 and 2020 examples, so it may be out of date. Check the price at checkout.
- Fee of 7% of the order.
- One item per EMI order. Your card limit must cover the full price, and conversion can take 7 working days.
Read on Daraz's own page on 6 Oct 2026.
- Example only
Example, "0% markup" plan with a 12% fee
0% markup, 12% fee
- Monthly
- Rs 20,833
- Total paid
- Rs 280,000
- Extra over cash price
- Rs 30,000
- Yearly cost
- 24.3% a year
- Down payment
- Rs 0
- Fees
- Rs 30,000
- Months
- 12
How we worked this out
- Not a real offer. It shows what a 0% plan with this fee really costs, so you can check any shop's offer.
HBL, HBL Installment Plan (credit card)
24% a year, on the balance owed
- Monthly
- Rs 23,640
- Total paid
- Rs 283,679
- Extra over cash price
- Rs 33,679
- Yearly cost
- 24.0% a year
- Down payment
- Rs 0
- Fees
- Rs 0
- Months
- 12
How we worked this out
- HBL's schedule of charges says 24% a year of the outstanding amount.
- HBL lists a processing fee but we could not read the amount, so it is not added.
- The bank does not publish which tenures it allows. Ask before you buy.
Read on HBL's own page on 6 Oct 2026.
UBL, Lite Installment Plan (credit card)
29% a year, basis not stated
- Monthly
- Rs 24,249
- Total paid
- Rs 290,988
- Extra over cash price
- Rs 40,988
- Yearly cost
- 29.0% a year
- Down payment
- Rs 0
- Fees
- Rs 0
- Months
- 12
How we worked this out
- UBL says 29% a year but not whether it is flat or on the balance owed. We used the balance owed, the cheapest it can be.
- Processing fee not published, so it is not added.
- The bank does not publish which tenures it allows. Ask before you buy.
Read on UBL's own page on 6 Oct 2026.
Daraz, EMI with Bank Alfalah card
22% markup over 12 months
- Monthly
- Rs 25,417
- Total paid
- Rs 305,000
- Extra over cash price
- Rs 55,000
- Yearly cost
- 38.4% a year
- Down payment
- Rs 0
- Fees
- Rs 0
- Months
- 12
How we worked this out
- Daraz's EMI terms page still uses 2019 and 2020 examples, so it may be out of date. Check the price at checkout.
- Daraz does not clearly state a fee for this bank, so none is added.
- One item per EMI order. Your card limit must cover the full price, and conversion can take 7 working days.
Read on Daraz's own page on 6 Oct 2026.
Askari Bank, Extended Payment Plan (credit card)
36% a year, basis not stated
- Monthly
- Rs 25,116
- Total paid
- Rs 310,761
- Extra over cash price
- Rs 60,761
- Yearly cost
- 43.8% a year
- Down payment
- Rs 0
- Fees
- Rs 9,375
- Months
- 12
How we worked this out
- Askari says 3% a month (36% a year) but not whether it is flat. We used the balance owed, the cheapest it can be.
- Fee Rs 1,500 or 3.75%, whichever is higher. Purchases of Rs 10,000 or more.
- The bank does not publish which tenures it allows. Ask before you buy.
Read on Askari Bank's own page on 6 Oct 2026.
MCB Bank, i-plan (credit card)
39% a year, on the balance owed
- Monthly
- Rs 25,492
- Total paid
- Rs 313,402
- Extra over cash price
- Rs 63,402
- Yearly cost
- 45.2% a year
- Down payment
- Rs 0
- Fees
- Rs 7,500
- Months
- 12
How we worked this out
- MCB's summary box says 3.25% a month on a 30 day basis, which is 39% a year. We read it as on the balance still owed.
- Fee Rs 1,200 or 3%, whichever is higher.
- The bank does not publish which tenures it allows. Ask before you buy.
Read on MCB Bank's own page on 6 Oct 2026.
Bank Alfalah, SBS credit card instalments
About 23.5% a year flat, 2.5% fee
- Monthly
- Rs 25,711
- Total paid
- Rs 314,782
- Extra over cash price
- Rs 64,782
- Yearly cost
- 45.9% a year
- Down payment
- Rs 0
- Fees
- Rs 6,250
- Months
- 12
How we worked this out
- Instalment copied from the Samsung flyer, 21 September 2026.
- One-time fee of 2.5% of the price (at least Rs 1,500) plus FED. The FED rate is not on the flyer, so it is not added.
- Needs an Alfalah credit card with enough limit, at least 3 months old.
Read on Bank Alfalah's own page on 6 Oct 2026.
Not published, ask the provider
These offer instalments but do not publish a rate we could check, so we do not guess one.
- Standard Chartered, Asaan Instalment Plan: Charges up to the card rate of 46% a year plus a booking charge of up to 20%. Those are ceilings, not a quote, so ask for your own figure.
- QistBazaar, Phone instalments: Shows the advance and the monthly amount but no cash price and no rate. Example: Samsung A07 at Rs 8,900 advance plus 12 payments of Rs 7,350, Rs 97,100 in all.
- Ufone with Kistpay, Device instalment plan: The page still lists 2023 phones and its numbers do not add up, so we treat it as out of date.
- Jazz, Handsets on instalment for postpaid: The page did not load for us on 6 October 2026, so we could not read any plan.
- Zong, Telenor and easypaisa, Samsung Pakistan, Meezan, Faysal, Phone instalments: We found no current instalment page with prices or rates on their own websites.
Card plans need a credit card with enough limit for the full price. If you miss a payment, the card's own late fee and markup apply on top. Rates were read on each bank's own page on 6 Oct 2026.
A fee is markup with a different name
A processing fee is paid on the first day, on the full price. Markup on a reducing balance gets smaller every month as you pay. So a 12% fee on a 12 month plan costs far more than 12% markup would, about 24% a year. The shorter the plan, the worse a fee is.
The yearly cost in the calculator counts every rupee: markup, fees and the timing of each payment. It is the rate a bank would quote on the balance owed for the same payments, so you can compare any two offers on one number.
PTA tax and lending apps
An imported phone that is not PTA approved will be blocked on Pakistani networks unless you pay its PTA tax. A cheap instalment on a non-approved phone can turn expensive once that tax is added, so check the tax before you agree a price.
Many lending apps offer quick cash to buy a phone. Borrow only from an app licensed by SECP, and check the licence before you share your CNIC or your phone contacts. SECP's lending rules protect you only with a licensed app.
Frequently asked questions
Is a 0% instalment plan really free?
Often not. Many 0% plans charge a one-time processing fee instead of markup. Bank Alfalah's iPhone 18 plan over 12 months is 0% markup with a 12% fee, which works out to about 24% a year, because you pay the whole fee on day one while you owe less every month. Put the fee you were quoted into the calculator to see its real cost.
Which bank has the cheapest credit card instalment plan?
On published rates, HBL charges 24% a year on the balance owed, UBL 29% a year, Askari 3% a month, MCB 3.25% a month, and Standard Chartered up to its card rate of 46% a year. Short Bank Alfalah plans on selected phones are 0% markup with a fee of 0% to 12%. Fees and tenures differ, so compare the total you pay, not the rate.
Does the instalment price include PTA tax?
Phones sold through Bank Alfalah's instalment flyers are PTA approved with taxes already paid. If you import a phone yourself or buy one that is not PTA approved, you must pay the PTA tax separately or the phone will be blocked. The Finance Act 2026 allows that tax to be paid in instalments once rules are issued, but when we checked on 17 September 2026 the DIRBS system offered no instalment option.
Can I buy a phone on instalments without a credit card?
Some telecom companies and online shops sell phones on monthly payments with a CNIC, but they do not publish a cash price or a rate we could check. Ask for the cash price and the total you will pay, and divide one by the other before you sign. Never borrow from a lending app that is not licensed by SECP.
What happens if I pay the instalments off early?
Banks charge for it. HBL charges 6% of the remaining amount. MCB charges Rs 1,200 or 6% of the remaining balance, whichever is higher. Standard Chartered charges Rs 1,000 or 5%, whichever is higher. Check this before you take a long plan you may want to close.
Is Daraz EMI still available?
Daraz still has an EMI terms page listing Standard Chartered, MCB and Bank Alfalah cards, but it uses examples from 2019 and 2020 and names Silkbank, which has merged into UBL. Treat its figures as a guide and check the fee and markup at checkout before you pay.
Read before you sign
Rates and fees were read on the schedules of charges of HBL, MCB, UBL, Askari Bank and Standard Chartered, on Bank Alfalah's instalment flyers and on Daraz's EMI terms page on 6 October 2026. Phone prices are the bank's instalment prices. Estimates only: confirm the figures with your bank before you sign. Pakistan Era is not affiliated with any bank, shop or phone maker.
