How to Apply for a Domicile or State Subject Certificate in Azad Kashmir: Fee, Time and Centres
Apply for an AJK domicile at the Muzaffarabad e-Facilitation Center. Pages list Rs 100 and Rs 200, and 15 to 16 working days. State Subject details are missing.

In Azad Jammu and Kashmir you can apply for a domicile certificate at the e-Facilitation Center in Muzaffarabad or at one-window centres in Assistant Commissioner offices. The AJK centre's own pages give two fees, Rs 100 and Rs 200, and a delivery time of 15 or 16 working days. A State Subject Certificate is listed as a service too, but its fee and papers are not published on the pages we read.
The centre's helpline is 05822-920753. It is open Monday to Saturday, 9 am to 5 pm. We read the e-Facilitation Center's service, FAQ and download pages on 14 October 2026, and the sections below show what matches and what does not.
The e-Facilitation Center offers five services in AJK
The AJK e-Facilitation Center lists birth certificates, death certificates, arms licences for AJK, the State Subject Certificate and the domicile certificate. The main centre is at DAM Square Plaza in Muzaffarabad. One-window centres in Assistant Commissioner offices handle state subject and domicile files.
A State Subject Certificate is the AJK document that proves residential status in the territory. A domicile is a different document that proves where you permanently live. Many forms ask for one or the other, so check which one your form wants before you apply.

The domicile fee is Rs 100 in one place and Rs 200 in another
The service page says the computerised domicile fee is Rs 100, paid in cash in Pakistani rupees at the Bank of Azad Jammu and Kashmir. The FAQ page says the departmental fee for the domicile certificate is Rs 200. Both pages are on the same official site.
| Detail | Service page | FAQ page |
|---|---|---|
| Domicile fee | Rs 100 | Rs 200 |
| Where to pay | Bank of Azad Jammu and Kashmir, cash | Bank of Azad Jammu and Kashmir, Muzaffarabad, cash |
| Delivery time | Not stated | 16 working days at the centre; 15 if you go to the department |
| Who issues it | Not stated | Assistant Commissioner |
| Home delivery | Not stated | No |
We cannot say which fee is current. Ask the counter for the amount on the challan, and keep the bank slip. The service page may describe the issuing fee alone, while the FAQ may add a departmental charge, but neither page says so. That reading is only our guess.
Domicile needs a filled form and an affidavit
The service page lists two items for the domicile file: a filled application form and an affidavit. It does not say how many copies or attestations are needed. Take your original CNIC, plus a copy, because the centre will ask to see it.
An affidavit is a sworn statement on stamp paper. Ask the centre or the Assistant Commissioner's office for the exact wording. The download page offers a form, a checklist and a set of FAQs for domicile, but the files did not open for us. The checklist is the document to read first, because it lists the papers.

The State Subject Certificate has no published fee or checklist
For the State Subject Certificate, the service page says only that it is "to get AJK Residential Status". It gives no fee, papers or time. The FAQ page we read did not answer questions on this service either.
We therefore cannot give you a number or a document list. The safe route is to call 05822-920753 or visit the one-window centre at your Assistant Commissioner's office and ask for the checklist in writing. Be careful of anyone who quotes a price for it without a bank challan.
Apply in five steps and track by SMS
You collect the form from the centre, from its website or from the parent department. You pay at the designated bank. You submit the file at the counter. The centre sends SMS messages when the file is received, dispatched, completed or rejected.
- Choose Domicile or State Subject Certificate and download or collect the form.
- Fill in the form and prepare the affidavit.
- Pay the fee in cash at the Bank of Azad Jammu and Kashmir and keep the slip.
- Submit the file at the e-Facilitation Center or an Assistant Commissioner's one-window centre.
- Wait for SMS updates, and use the tracking page with your tracking ID.
Opening hours are 9 am to 5 pm, Monday to Saturday. The centre closes from 1 pm to 2 pm for lunch. On Fridays it closes from 12:30 pm to 2:30 pm for Friday prayers. Plan your visit around those gaps.

Where else AJK and domicile papers matter
These certificates support jobs, schools and some other filings. A quota post may ask for a domicile, as the note on FPSC domicile quota rules shows for AJK candidates. Elsewhere in Pakistan, the steps differ, as the guide on how to apply for a domicile certificate online in Pakistan explains.
Other AJK services also use a CNIC and a local office. For example, a marriage or divorce record follows the steps in the guide on how to register a nikah and talaq in Azad Kashmir, and a driving licence starts online, as the guide on the AJK driving licence shows.
Common questions about AJK domicile and state subject
How much is the AJK domicile fee?
The centre's service page says Rs 100, and its FAQ page says Rs 200. Ask for the bank challan amount and keep the slip.
How long does an AJK domicile take?
The FAQ says 16 working days at the e-Facilitation Center and 15 working days if you go straight to the department. Neither is a promise for your file.
Who issues the domicile in AJK?
The Assistant Commissioner issues it, and the Board of Revenue is the responsible department, according to the FAQ page.
Can the certificate be sent to my home?
No. The FAQ says the centre cannot deliver a service to your doorstep. You get SMS updates, then collect it.
What is the State Subject Certificate?
The centre describes it as the document "to get AJK Residential Status". It lists no fee, papers or time on the pages we read, so ask the centre.
Where do I pay the fee?
Pay in cash at the Bank of Azad Jammu and Kashmir, Muzaffarabad, according to the FAQ. Keep the slip with your file.
How we verified this
What we checked, where we read it, and what we could not confirm.
Last checked 14 October 2026 on the AJK e-Facilitation Center service page and its FAQ page. We did not file an application. The two fees, the delivery times and the missing state subject details could not be resolved from the site, and the download files did not open for us. Confirm all of them with the centre on 05822-920753.
About the author

Public Services and Education Journalist
Fajr Riaz is a journalist and content writer at Pakistan Era, based in Lahore. She covers the questions people meet in everyday life in Pakistan: how a public service works, what a change in the rules means, and where to find a reliable answer.




