Skip to content
Pakistan Era logo
Guides

Balochistan Food Authority Licence Fee: Rs 1,000 to Rs 50,000 by Business Category

Find your Balochistan Food Authority licence fee by category: Rs 1,000 for a cart, Rs 50,000 for a hotel. See the amounts, steps to apply and what to confirm.

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan EraFajr Riaz5 min read
A wooden bowl on a dark wooden table, for a guide to the Balochistan Food Authority licence fee

Short answer: The Balochistan Food Authority sets your licence fee by business category, from Rs 1,000 for a cart or ice cream point to Rs 50,000 for a five to seven star hotel or a mega mart. Open the fee calculator on the authority's website, pick your category and size, and read the amount before you apply.

A small tea stall owner in Quetta and a hotel chain do not pay the same. The Balochistan Food Authority (BFA) knows this, so it publishes a fee for each type of food business. We opened the calculator on the authority's own website on 12 October 2026 and read every category and amount it lists.

The fee depends on your category, not on one flat rate

BFA groups food businesses into seven categories: restaurants, hotels and canteens; grocery stores; confectionery; industries and small manufacturing units; dairy; other food businesses; and a last group for anything not listed. Each has sub-categories, and each sub-category has one amount.

The calculator on the BFA website asks you to select a category, then a sub-category, and shows the amount and, where it applies, the size or capacity that decides the band. Size is usually shop area in square feet, seating in persons, or the number of animals on a dairy farm.

The calculator does not say on the same page whether the amount is paid once or every year, or how long a licence lasts. Ask BFA before you pay, so you do not budget wrongly.

Restaurants, hotels and canteens pay from Rs 1,000 to Rs 50,000

This is the biggest group, with 29 sub-categories. Size and type set the fee. A small tea stall pays Rs 3,000. A large restaurant above 100 persons pays Rs 25,000. A wedding hall with a kitchen pays Rs 30,000.

BusinessSize or capacityAmount (Rs)
Five to seven star hotelNot stated50,000
Restaurant, largeAbove 100 persons25,000
Restaurant, medium40 to 100 persons15,000
Restaurant, smallUp to 30 persons8,000
Marriage hall with kitchen or catererNot stated30,000
Tandoor or naan shopNot stated5,000
Juice corner, tea stall or dhabaNot stated3,000
Pakora or samosa pointNot stated2,000
Cart or ice cream selling pointNot stated1,000

Use the exact sub-category name when you apply. A "Kabab Shop Large" pays Rs 10,000 and a "Kabab Shop Small" pays Rs 3,000, so the wrong pick costs Rs 7,000.

Balochistan Food Authority licence fee for restaurants, tea stalls and carts

Shops, bakers and dairy have their own bands

Shops are priced by area. A karyana store above 400 square feet pays Rs 10,000, one from 150 to 400 square feet pays Rs 7,000, and a small one up to 150 square feet pays Rs 5,000. A fruit and vegetable shop pays Rs 3,000 and a fruit cart pays Rs 1,000.

  • Mutton, beef, fish or poultry shop: Rs 25,000 above 400 square feet, Rs 10,000 from 150 to 400, Rs 5,000 up to 150.
  • Sweets shop and bakers: Rs 25,000 large, Rs 15,000 medium, Rs 5,000 small.
  • Dairy farm: Rs 30,000 above 50 cows or buffaloes, Rs 20,000 for 15 to 50, Rs 10,000 for 1 to 14.
  • Milk or yogurt shop: Rs 15,000 above 400 square feet, Rs 10,000 medium, Rs 5,000 small.
  • Flour mill: Rs 20,000. Electric flour chaki: Rs 8,000. Fuel or solar chaki: Rs 5,000.

Manufacturers pay more. An importer or exporter marketing nationally or internationally pays Rs 50,000. A local processor or filler pays Rs 15,000. Cottage food industries pay Rs 10,000, and a seasonal cottage business pays Rs 5,000.

Balochistan Food Authority licence fee for shops, dairy and small manufacturers

How to apply and how long it takes

You can apply through the BFA website, through the BFA mobile app, or by the manual route. The authority's frequently asked questions say the process usually takes two to three weeks. Nothing on the page we read gives a document checklist, so call before you collect papers.

  1. Open the BFA website and go to Business Guidance, then Calculate License Category Cost.
  2. Select your category and sub-category and note the amount and the size band.
  3. Choose Apply for License on the same menu, or use the BFA app, and fill in the form.
  4. Pay the fee as the application directs and keep the receipt.
  5. Wait for the inspection and approval, and ask for the licence number.
  6. Use the Verify Your License page to confirm the licence appears in the record.
Steps to get a Balochistan Food Authority licence

The BFA contact page lists a Quetta head office near Banzir Flyover on Spinny Road, phone 081-9213573 and WhatsApp +92 333 4664507. It also says no physical offices exist at the zones at this time, so expect to deal with Quetta or the online route.

Things to check before you pay

Two oddities show up in the calculator. A small food packaging unit is listed at Rs 15,000, while a large one is listed at Rs 10,000. We report both as the calculator shows them. Ask BFA to confirm before you pay in that group.

Also, the licence is for a food business, not for a trade permit. A restaurant still needs its local council permission, which is a different office, as explained in the note on trade licence and business registration with a local council. If you sell halal-labelled products, there is a separate step covered in how to get halal certification for a food business.

Customers who find unsafe food can also report it, and the helplines for all three provinces are in reporting unsafe food in Sindh, KP or Balochistan. A Punjab business should read the different Punjab rules in the Punjab Food Authority licence fee and steps.

Common questions

How much is a food licence in Balochistan?

It depends on the category. The BFA calculator lists amounts from Rs 1,000 for a cart to Rs 50,000 for a large hotel, import or mega mart.

Where do I check the fee for my shop?

Open the BFA website, go to Business Guidance and choose Calculate License Category Cost. Select your category and sub-category to see the amount.

How long does the licence take?

BFA's frequently asked questions say usually two to three weeks. The time can be longer if the inspection finds a problem.

Can I apply from the phone?

Yes. BFA says you can apply through its website, its mobile app or the manual procedure.

How do I check that a licence is real?

Use the Verify Your License page on the BFA website. Ask the business for its licence number and search it there.

Is the amount paid every year?

The calculator page does not say. Ask BFA on 081-9213573 before you pay and keep the answer with your receipt.

How we verified this

What we checked, where we read it, and what we could not confirm.

We read the licence category calculator, the contact page and the frequently asked questions on the Balochistan Food Authority website on 12 October 2026. Fees can be revised, so confirm the amount with the authority before you pay.

About the author

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan Era

Public Services and Education Journalist

Fajr Riaz

Fajr Riaz is a journalist and content writer at Pakistan Era, based in Lahore. She covers the questions people meet in everyday life in Pakistan: how a public service works, what a change in the rules means, and where to find a reliable answer.

TopicsBalochistanFood LicenceBalochistan Food AuthorityQuettaSmall Business