Skip to content
Pakistan Era logo
Guides

Police Character Certificate From Abroad for Pakistanis: Which Provinces Are Online at Embassies (2026)

Get a Pakistani police character certificate from abroad through an embassy. Punjab, Islamabad and AJK are online in 2 weeks; Sindh and KP take longer. Compare.

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan EraFajr Riaz5 min read
A wooden gavel resting on a polished dark wooden desk in soft window light

A Pakistani living abroad can get a police character certificate through the nearest Pakistani mission. If your home is in Punjab, Balochistan, Islamabad, Gilgit-Baltistan or Azad Kashmir, the mission files it online and it takes about two weeks. Sindh and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa usually go by paper forms and take far longer. Fees and routes differ by mission, from free in Chengdu to CAD 50 in Toronto.

Foreign employers, immigration offices and universities ask for this certificate all the time, and the person needing it is often thousands of kilometres from their home police station. We compared the police certificate pages of four Pakistani missions on 1 November 2026: the Consulate General in Toronto, the High Commission in Canberra, the Consulate General in Chengdu and the Embassy in Madrid. Three agree on which provinces are online. One says the opposite.

Punjab, Balochistan, Islamabad, GB and AJK are online at most missions

Toronto and Chengdu both say applicants from Punjab, Balochistan, Islamabad Capital Territory, Gilgit-Baltistan and Azad Jammu and Kashmir can apply online at the mission. Canberra lists the same group, minus Gilgit-Baltistan, for its postal route. Sindh and KP are handled separately.

Home provinceTorontoChengduCanberraMadrid
PunjabOnlineOnlineBy postNot online
BalochistanOnlineOnlineBy postNot online
IslamabadOnlineOnlineBy postNot online
Gilgit-BaltistanOnlineOnlineNot listedNot online
Azad KashmirOnlineOnlineBy postNot online
SindhPaper formNot offeredSindh Police websiteOnline
Khyber PakhtunkhwaPaper formNot offeredPaper form, A$20Online

Madrid is the odd one out. Its FAQ says the online facility is only for applicants with an address or family in KP and Sindh. Chengdu says the exact reverse: it cannot offer the online route to KP and Sindh because their police have not started it. We cannot tell which is current, so ask your own mission before you apply.

Which provinces can get a police character certificate online through Pakistani missions abroad

Fees run from free in Chengdu to CAD 50 in Toronto

Chengdu processes the certificate free of charge. Toronto charges CAD 50, by debit card only, for both online and paper applications. Canberra lists an A$20 processing fee for KP applications. Madrid's page gives no separate certificate fee in its FAQ.

MissionFeeTimeHow
Toronto, onlineCAD 50About 2 weeksAppointment, in person
Toronto, paper formCAD 50About 3 monthsAppointment, three forms
ChengduFreeNormally 2 weeksIn person, live photo
Canberra, KPA$20Not statedBy post, four forms
MadridNot stated5 working daysIn person, CNIC and passport

Our view: the online route is worth a trip to the mission. Two weeks against three months is not a close call. If you are from Sindh or KP, start early or use a relative at home.

Police character certificate fees and times at Pakistani missions in Canada, China, Australia and Spain

How the online route works at a Pakistani mission

You visit the mission with your original CNIC or NICOP and passport. A staff member fills the form with you, takes a live photo and uploads the request to the police portal of your province. The certificate comes back to the mission for collection.

  1. Book an appointment if your mission needs one. Toronto does, through its booking site.
  2. Take your original valid CNIC or NICOP and your passport.
  3. Fill the form at the counter and sit for a live photo.
  4. Pay the fee, if your mission charges one.
  5. Wait for the mission to call you, usually within two weeks.
  6. Ask the mission to attest the certificate if a foreign office needs it.

Chengdu adds a useful detail. A Punjab Police certificate is valid for 180 days. After that, you need a new one. So time your application to the date the employer or visa office will look at it.

Steps to apply for a Pakistani police character certificate online at an embassy

Sindh and KP applicants use paper forms or a relative at home

Toronto sends Sindh and KP applications to Pakistan on paper: three forms, three photos and three copies of your ID, taking about three months. The faster choice is often an authority letter for a relative, who applies at your home police station.

Canberra asks KP applicants for four forms, four photos attested by a Justice of the Peace, attested copies of your card and passport, proof of legal stay in Australia, a return envelope and A$20. For Sindh, it points to the Sindh Police online service, which delivers the certificate directly.

The relative route works the same way at every mission. You get an authority letter attested at the mission and send the original home. Your relative applies at the police station or service centre. In Punjab that means the police certificate at an e-Khidmat centre, in KP the KP police character certificate, and in Islamabad the Islamabad police certificate. Then the relative gets the certificate attested by the Foreign Office and posts it to you.

Get the certificate attested before you hand it over

A certificate made in Pakistan must be attested by the Foreign Office there before a mission abroad will accept it. The Foreign Office only attests a certificate issued by the District Police Officer. Many foreign authorities then want the mission's own stamp too.

Chengdu says a certificate issued in Pakistan must carry the Foreign Office's QR code attestation. Toronto says the applicant must have the original attested at the consulate before presenting it. If you need to check progress at home, the provincial trackers are compared in the police character certificate status check.

Common questions

Can I get a Pakistani police certificate without going to Pakistan?

Yes. Apply through your nearest Pakistani mission, or send an attested authority letter to a relative who applies at your home police station.

Which provinces can apply online at a Pakistani embassy?

Toronto and Chengdu say Punjab, Balochistan, Islamabad, Gilgit-Baltistan and Azad Kashmir. Madrid says KP and Sindh instead, so check with your mission.

How long does it take?

About two weeks online. A paper application from Sindh or KP through Toronto takes about three months.

How much does it cost at the Toronto consulate?

CAD 50, by debit card only, and it is not refundable.

How long is a Punjab police certificate valid?

180 days, according to the Chengdu consulate. After that you need a new one.

Does the certificate need attestation?

Usually yes. A certificate from Pakistan needs the Foreign Office stamp, and many foreign offices also want the mission's attestation.

How we verified this

What we checked, where we read it, and what we could not confirm.

Last checked 1 November 2026. We read the police certificate pages of the Consulate General of Pakistan in Toronto at pakconsulate.ca, the High Commission in Canberra at pakistan.org.au and the Consulate General in Chengdu on mofa.gov.pk, the attestation FAQ of the Embassy in Madrid on mofa.gov.pk, and the MOFA attestation SOPs, all on 1 November 2026. The Madrid and Chengdu pages contradict each other on KP and Sindh, and we could not resolve it. The Sindh Police website did not open from our location, so we could not check its online certificate service.

About the author

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan Era

Public Services and Education Journalist

Fajr Riaz

Fajr Riaz is a journalist and content writer at Pakistan Era, based in Lahore. She covers the questions people meet in everyday life in Pakistan: how a public service works, what a change in the rules means, and where to find a reliable answer.

TopicsPolice Character CertificateOverseas PakistanisPakistan EmbassyAttestationPakistan