Skip to content
Pakistan Era logo
Guides

University Degree Verification Online in Pakistan: NUST, FAST, AIOU and Karachi University Portals and Fees

Verify a Pakistani degree at the university that issued it. NUST and FAST charge Rs 1,000, AIOU searches by roll number and Karachi University works by email.

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan EraFajr Riaz5 min read
A graduation cap resting on a wooden desk beside a rolled ribbon in warm light

To verify a degree in Pakistan, go to the university that issued it: NUST at onlineverification.nust.edu.pk (Rs 1,000), FAST at nu.edu.pk/Student/dvp (Rs 1,000 a case), AIOU at verification.aiou.edu.pk (search by roll number), and Karachi University by email to verification@uok.edu.pk (Rs 1,000 a document). Employers, embassies and graduates can all use these routes. HEC attestation is a separate step and does not replace them.

A fake or altered degree is common enough that most large employers now check every certificate. We read each university's verification page on 31 October 2026. Below is what each one charges, how fast it answers, what number you need, and what to do when a university does not reply.

Degree verification fees and portals at four universities

Each university runs its own system. Two offer an online form or lookup, two work by fee and email. Fees run from Rs 1,000 a case locally to USD 100 for an overseas request. Here is each one side by side, from its own page.

UniversityWhere to verifyLocal feeTime
NUSTonlineverification.nust.edu.pkRs 1,000 by fee invoiceDegree 3 working days, transcript 5
FAST (NUCES)nu.edu.pk/Student/dvpRs 1,000 per caseNot stated
AIOUverification.aiou.edu.pkNot stated on the pageNot stated
Karachi Universityverification@uok.edu.pkRs 1,000 per document30 days normal, 15 days urgent
Degree verification fees in Pakistan at NUST, FAST, AIOU and Karachi University

NUST verifies a degree in three working days for Rs 1,000

NUST's portal has two buttons: one for organisations and one for students. You fill the form, pay the fee, and NUST emails the verified result. It promises a degree answer in three working days and a transcript answer in five, counted from fee confirmation.

  1. Open onlineverification.nust.edu.pk and choose For Organization or For Student.
  2. Fill the form with the graduate's details.
  3. Pay Rs 1,000 through the fee invoice. Organisations abroad pay USD 35 by bank transfer, or Rs 9,700 by fee invoice.
  4. Wait for the email. Use Track Application on the same site to follow it.

NUST says only organisations, alumni and graduated students can apply. For a paper verification, it keeps a separate form under Downloads on its website. Foreign transfers go to NUST's dollar account at HBL NUST H-12, with the purpose marked as degree or transcript verification fee.

NUST online degree verification steps and fee

FAST checks a degree by degree number or registration number

FAST's Degree Verification Program has a search box on its site. Type the degree number or the student registration number and press Submit. From 1 April 2025, FAST charges Rs 1,000 per case to the organisation, employer or student.

FAST asks for that fee by cheque or pay order in favour of the National University of Computer and Emerging Sciences, and it asks that the payment be reported to the accounts office at the campus. Questions go to dat@nu.edu.pk. If the search finds no record, email that address with a scan of the degree before you assume it is fake. Old records are sometimes missing from online systems.

AIOU and Karachi University answer by roll number and email

AIOU's Online Degree Verification System asks for a roll number and returns the record. Its official email is verification@aiou.edu.pk. Karachi University has no lookup. It verifies documents for a fee paid by pay order, with replies through verification@uok.edu.pk.

Karachi University's schedule is the most detailed of the four. A document check costs Rs 1,000 normal, in 30 days, or Rs 2,000 urgent, in 15 days. An email verification costs Rs 4,000, and an overseas request USD 100. Every line of that table, with the extra services, is in our page on Karachi University verification fees.

For AIOU, a graduate who still needs the degree itself, not a check of it, should apply first through the route in our page on applying for an AIOU degree certificate.

How AIOU and Karachi University verify degrees: roll number search and email

University verification and HEC attestation are two different checks

A university verification tells an employer the degree is real. HEC attestation is the Commission's own check, which foreign employers and embassies often demand. You may need both, and they are done in different places.

HEC attests through its own portal and only for recognised institutions. Before any of this, confirm the university and campus are recognised, using our check of whether a university is HEC recognised. The attestation process itself is in our guide to getting a degree attested by HEC online, and for use abroad you may also need an apostille from the Foreign Office.

What to do when a university does not reply

Follow up by email with your payment proof after the promised time passes: three working days at NUST, 30 days at Karachi University on a normal request. If there is still no answer, a student can complain to HEC's grievance portal about the delay.

  • Keep the fee invoice, pay order copy or bank slip. Every university above ties the answer to fee confirmation.
  • Send one clear email with the graduate's full name, roll or registration number, degree title and year.
  • Never pay an agent who claims to "verify" a degree faster. The official routes above are the only ones the universities list.

The complaint route is in our page on HEC's student grievance portal.

Common questions

How can I verify a degree online in Pakistan?

Use the issuing university's own system. NUST and FAST have online forms or lookups, AIOU searches by roll number, and Karachi University verifies by fee and email.

How much is the NUST degree verification fee?

Rs 1,000 for local students and organisations. Organisations abroad pay USD 35 by bank transfer or Rs 9,700 by fee invoice.

How long does NUST take to verify a degree?

Three working days for a degree and five for a transcript, after the fee is confirmed.

What number do I need to verify a FAST degree?

The degree number or the student registration number.

Is university verification the same as HEC attestation?

No. The university confirms the record. HEC attests the degree for official use, often abroad.

What is Karachi University's verification email?

verification@uok.edu.pk. Fees are paid by pay order in favour of the University of Karachi.

How we verified this

What we checked, where we read it, and what we could not confirm.

Last checked 31 October 2026. We read NUST's degree and transcript verification portal, FAST's Degree Verification Program, AIOU's verification system at verification.aiou.edu.pk and Karachi University's verification fee page on uok.edu.pk, all on 31 October 2026. We did not submit a real request, so the reply times are each university's stated times, not ones we measured. AIOU's page shows no fee and no time. Punjab University's verification page returned a server error that night, so it is not included.

About the author

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan Era

Public Services and Education Journalist

Fajr Riaz

Fajr Riaz is a journalist and content writer at Pakistan Era, based in Lahore. She covers the questions people meet in everyday life in Pakistan: how a public service works, what a change in the rules means, and where to find a reliable answer.

TopicsDegree VerificationNUSTFASTAIOUKarachi University