Skip to content
Pakistan Era logo
News

Balochistan Says 50,000 Wheat Farmers Got Benazir Kissan Card Support, Amount Not Stated

Balochistan's chief minister reportedly announced support for 50,000 wheat farmers on the Benazir Kissan Card on 9 October 2026. No amount or list is stated.

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan EraFajr Riaz5 min read
A bundle of wheat ears on a dark wooden table, for a report on Balochistan wheat farmer support

Short answer: Balochistan Chief Minister Mir Sarfraz Bugti has announced direct financial support to 50,000 wheat farmers through the Benazir Kissan Card, reported on 9 October 2026. The announcement gives no amount per farmer, no list of districts and no sign-up route. The department's own portal shows 111,255 registered farmers.

For a wheat grower in Balochistan the question is simple: is my name in the 50,000, and how much did I get? The announcement does not answer either. This report sets out what is known, what the department's portal shows, and what a farmer can check today.

We read the Agriculture Extension Balochistan portal, balochistankissan.gob.pk, on 12 October 2026. We did not find a press note or notice about the 50,000 payment on it. Everything about the announcement itself is reported, not read on an official page.

The chief minister's announcement names 50,000 wheat farmers

The report says the Balochistan government provided direct financial support to 50,000 wheat farmers under the Benazir Kissan Card programme. It credits the announcement to the chief minister and dates it 9 October 2026. It ties the support to wheat farming.

The report ties the payment to wheat threshing. We could not confirm that wording on an official page, so treat the purpose as reported. The Benazir Kissan Card is the province's farmer registration and subsidy card, run by the Agriculture Extension department in Quetta.

QuestionWhat is known
Who announced itChief Minister Mir Sarfraz Bugti, reported
How many farmers50,000 wheat farmers
ChannelBenazir Kissan Card
Amount per farmerNot stated
DistrictsNot stated
Official notice foundNo, as of 12 October 2026
What is and is not known about the Balochistan wheat farmer payment under the Benazir Kissan Card

The portal shows 111,255 registered farmers

On 12 October 2026 the portal's home page showed 111,255 registered farmers and a subsidy disbursed figure of 127.569 million. The page does not give the currency or say which scheme the figure covers, so it cannot be tied to the 50,000 wheat payment.

Figures on the Balochistan Kissan portal on 12 October 2026 compared with the reported 50,000 payment

For scale, 50,000 is a little under half of 111,255. That is our arithmetic, not a statement from the department. Farmers outside the card system are not part of either number.

Registration is the entry point. If you have not registered, our guide on how to check your Benazir Kissan Card registration status shows how to search your CNIC and where to sign up.

What is not stated in the announcement

The report does not say how much each farmer received, how the 50,000 were chosen, whether there is a land limit, or whether more payments will follow. It does not name a payment channel such as a bank or wallet.

These gaps matter for you. Without a land limit you cannot tell whether a farm of 3 acres or 30 acres qualified. Without a selection rule you cannot tell whether missing out means your record is wrong or just that you were not in the batch.

  • Amount per farmer: not stated.
  • Selection rule: not stated.
  • Land limit: not stated.
  • Future payments: not stated.

Other Balochistan farm support is listed on the portal

The same portal carries one open offer. It lists a 75 per cent subsidy on certified seed of moong, mash, masoor and gram, due in the first week of November 2026, in 23 districts. It is a separate scheme from the wheat payment.

The conditions for that offer are Benazir Kissan Card registration, land ownership or a documented lease, and adequate irrigation, with priority for farms of 5 to 12 acres. Our guide on how to apply for the pulses seed subsidy lists the form and papers.

The home page also says a fertiliser ban was lifted in Lasbela and Naseerabad, with sales only to registered farmers through PTTS. See our guide to checking an agricultural dealer's licence before you buy.

How this compares with Punjab and Sindh

Punjab and Sindh run their own wheat support. Sindh approved a subsidy for farmers with up to 25 acres, and Punjab uses its own Kissan Card. The three provinces use different cards, limits and channels, so a farmer in one cannot claim in another.

For Sindh, see our report on the Rs 14.9 billion wheat subsidy. For Punjab, see how to apply for the Punjab Kissan Card. National wheat price policy is separate again: the federal support price for 2026-27 was not yet announced when we last checked.

What a farmer should do now

Search your CNIC on the portal's status page, keep your land papers ready, and ask your district Agriculture (Extension) office whether your name is in the wheat payment list. Note the date and the officer's name. Do not pay anyone to "release" a payment.

  1. Open balochistankissan.gob.pk and search your CNIC on the Registration Status page.
  2. If you are not found, register on the portal, the app or at your district office.
  3. Ask the district office whether the 50,000 list includes your name and what the amount was.
  4. Keep your CNIC, land record and any SMS or receipt.
  5. Call the helpline 0311-1333294 if the district office cannot answer.
Five steps a Balochistan farmer can take to check their position in the Benazir Kissan Card payment

Common questions

How many wheat farmers got support in Balochistan?

The chief minister's announcement, as reported on 9 October 2026, says 50,000 wheat farmers. We could not confirm the number on an official page.

How much did each farmer receive?

The announcement does not say. We will not guess an amount.

Do I need the Benazir Kissan Card?

The payment was reported as going through the card, so yes. Check your registration on the portal's status page.

How many farmers are registered on the portal?

The home page showed 111,255 registered farmers on 12 October 2026.

Is the 75 per cent pulses seed subsidy the same scheme?

No. It is a separate offer for certified seed of four pulses, due in the first week of November 2026 in 23 districts.

Where do I ask if my name is on the list?

At your district Agriculture (Extension) office, or on the department helpline 0311-1333294.

How we verified this

What we checked, where we read it, and what we could not confirm.

We read the home page and registration pages of balochistankissan.gob.pk on 12 October 2026. The 50,000 figure, the chief minister's name and the 9 October date come from a press report of the announcement, which we could not match to an official notice. The portal counters change daily.

About the author

Fajr Riaz, author at Pakistan Era

Public Services and Education Journalist

Fajr Riaz

Fajr Riaz is a journalist and content writer at Pakistan Era, based in Lahore. She covers the questions people meet in everyday life in Pakistan: how a public service works, what a change in the rules means, and where to find a reliable answer.

TopicsBalochistanWheatBenazir Kissan CardFarmersAgriculture News